Gum arabic

A brief description

We would like to share our enthusiasm for gum arabic with you. There is no chemically synthesised product that can offer the unique properties and multi-faceted functionality of this natural gum. We aim to provide our customers from the food and pharmaceutical industry with ready-to-use grades while ensuring secure supply and excellent service. That is our goal.

Due to its low viscosity, gum arabic has a solubility rate in water of up to 50%, which gives it an outstanding position among the natural hydrocolloids. Acacia gum is both taste- and odourless, and can be used for a great number of applications because it binds, stabilises, and protects.

As a result of its prebiotic properties, there is an ever-increasing demand for gum arabic as a functional ingredient.  Gum arabic is composed of more than 80% of the natural fibre Arabinogalactan and is completely soluble in water.

It is this property that makes the polysaccharide the perfect partner for the food industry. Gum arabic has a low energy content and can be used to partially replace fat or sugar and thus help to meet consumer demands with regard to healthy nutrition.

Keep it natural

The call for more natural processed foodstuffs is growing ever louder. Gum arabic is a natural, GMO-free substance that is cultivated without the use of fertilisers or pesticides. Food producers are becoming more and more interested in aspects such as „Green Labelling“. By using gum arabic, producers have a clear advantage and are able to positively influence purchasing decisions. Of course we also supply certified organic grades (DE-ÖKO-005).

A brief description of its origins

Gum arabic is the hardened sap of the Acacia senegal tree, and other related species. These acacia trees grow in the Savanna of the African Sahel. The so-called “Gum Belt” spans the entire continent of Africa. It starts in Senegal and ends in Somalia. Acacia gum is normally harvested in the dry season between November and April. Due to the fact that the Acacia trees form a natural wind barrier that helps combat the expansion of the Sahara, gum arabic is a particularly sustainable product. During the harvest season, gum arabic provides a source of income for up to 5 million people in the Sahel. As a result of its importance, the tree population is maintained by the inhabitants and because acacias are legumes, they enrich the region’s poor soil with nitrogen. Our spray-dried powders are produced in Germany in accordance with the highest quality standards.

Applications of gum arabic

Drinks
Stabiliser of emulsions
Foam stabiliser
Stabiliser and improvement of texture in wine-making
Clarifying agent

Confectionery
Glazing- and coating agent
Suspension agent
Film former
Adhesive
Fat- and sugar separating agent

Dairy products/sauces
Suspension agent, emulsifier
Gelling agent

Baked goods
Improved moisture properties, improved freezing properties, softer texture, crispier crust

Aromas/Vitamins
Carrier and preservative, microencapsulations
Emulsifier, suspension agent

As a water-soluble fibre
Fibre enrichment
Reduction of the nutritional value of foodstuffs
The use of health claims

Pharmaceuticals
Component for the stabilisation of emulsions
Pastilles and tablets, binding agent
Coating agent

Numerous other applications
Emulsifier for printing ink
Lithography
Film former or coating agent for industrial applications

Our product portfolio

Willy Benecke offers different grades. We produce them for you in Germany at our spray drying facility SprayCom GmbH.

  • Spray-dried agglomerated powder (instant)
  • Minimal dust formation during use
  • Optimal flow properties
  • Rapid solubility, especially for highly concentrated solutions

Our spray-dried grades are free of impurities, have a very low level of microbiological contamination due to pasteurisation, and are characterised by their rapid solubility. They are produced under a stringent, certified quality management- and HACCP system in order to ensure that we provide the processing industry with a safe additive. Our experienced employees conduct the analytical quality control at our in-house laboratory. Our spray-dried powders fulfill all statutory requirements: E 414 (EU 231/2012), Ph. Eur., BP, JECFA, USP, FCC

We furthermore offer gum arabic in the following forms:

  • Mechanically milled powder
  • Granules
  • Raw product
  • Liquid solutions, if desired

The resins from different parts of the Sahel vary considerably in terms of their properties. We choose the correct grade for your specific application. We also stock certified organic grades (DE–ÖKO-005).

Should you require special product parameters, we can create a tailored product that can be produced on demand. We stand for a high level of flexibility and individual service, which also extends to packaging, transport and documentation.

Gummi arabicum

Eine kurze Beschreibung

Unsere Begeisterung für das einzigartige Multitalent Gummi arabicum möchten wir mit Ihnen teilen. Kein chemisch synthetisiertes Produkt reicht an die besonderen Eigenschaften und die vielseitige Funktionalität dieses natürlichen Gummiharzes heran. Wir wollen unseren Kunden aus der Lebensmittel- und Pharmabranche Qualitäten anbieten, die sofort einsetzbar sind – bei sicherer Versorgung und bestem Service. Das ist unser Anspruch.

Gummi arabicum nimmt unter den natürlichen Hydrokolloiden eine herausragende Stellung ein, da es aufgrund seiner niedrigen Viskosität bis zu 50% in Wasser löslich ist. Es zeichnet sich durch Geschmacks- und Geruchsneutralität aus. Akaziengummi kann  in vielen Anwendungen verwendet werden, weil es bindet, stabilisiert und schützt.

Es besteht zu über 80% aus dem natürlichen Ballaststoff Arabinogalactan und ist zudem komplett in Wasser löslich.

Diese Eigenschaft macht das Polysaccharid zu einem perfekten Partner für die Lebensmittelindustrie. Außerdem kann es mit einem geringeren Energiegehalt teilweise Fett und Zucker ersetzen und trägt so zum gesunden Ernährungsanspruch der Verbraucher bei.

Natürlichkeit ist der Schlüssel

Der Ruf nach Natürlichkeit wird bei allen verarbeiteten Lebensmitteln immer lauter. Gummi arabicum ist ein natürlicher Stoff, GMO-frei, der ohne Dünger und Pestizide angebaut wird. Lebensmittelherstellern geht es heute mehr und mehr um Aspekte wie „Green Labeling“. Mit dem Einsatz von Gummi arabicum sind sie klar im Vorteil und können Kaufentscheidungen positiv beeinflussen. Selbstverständlich liefern wir auch zertifizierte Bio-Qualitäten (DE-ÖKO-005).

Eine kurze Beschreibung der Herkunft

Gummi arabicum ist das getrocknete Harz des Acacia Senegal Baumes und verwandter Arten. Diese Akazien wachsen in der Savanne der afrikanischen Sahelzone. Der sogenannte Gummi Gürtel umspannt ganz Afrika. Er beginnt in Senegal und endet in Somalia. Akaziengummi wird hauptsächlich während der Trockenzeit zwischen November und April gesammelt. Es ist ein besonders nachhaltiges Produkt, da die Bäume, von denen das Harz geerntet wird, als Windschutz der Expansion der Sahara entgegenwirken. Während der Erntezeit ist Gummi arabicum eine Einnahmequelle für bis zu 5 Millionen Menschen in der Sahelzone. Dadurch werden die Baumbestände von den Bewohnern erhalten und reichern als Leguminosen die kargen Böden mit Stickstoff an. Unsere sprühgetrockneten Pulver werden nach höchsten Qualitätsansprüchen in Deutschland produziert.

Anwendungsfelder von Gummi arabicum

Getränke
Stabilisator von Emulsionen
Schaumstabilisator
Stabilisator und Texturverbesserung in der Weinherstellung
Klärungsmittel

Süsswaren
Glanz- und Überzugsmittel
Suspendiermittel
Film-former
Klebemittel
Fett und Zuckerseparationsmittel

Molkereiprodukte/Saucen
Suspendiermittel, Emulgator
Geliermittel

Backwaren
Verbessertes Feuchtigkeitsverhalten, verbessertes Gefrierverhalten weichere Textur, knusprigere Kruste

Aromen/Vitamine
Träger- und Schutzmittel, Mikroverkapselungen
Emulgator, Suspendiermittel

Als wasserlöslicher Ballastoff
Ballaststoffanreicherung
Reduzierung des Nährwertes von Lebensmitteln
Verwendung von gesundheitsbezogenen Angaben

Pharmazie
Bestandteil zur Stabilisierung von Emulsionen
Pastillen und Tabletten, Bindemittel
Überzugsmittel

Zahlreiche  weitere Anwendungsmöglichkeiten
Emulgator für Druckertinte
Lithografie
Filmbildner oder Überzugsmittel für industrielle Anwendungen

Unser Produktportfolio

Willy Benecke bietet unterschiedliche Qualitäten an.Wir produizieren für Sie in unserer Sprühtrocknungsanlage SprayCom GmbH in Deutschland.

  • sprühgetrocknetes agglomeriertes Pulver (Instant)
  • minimale Staubbildung in der Anwendung
  • Optimale Fließeigenschaften
  • schnelle Löslichkeit, insbesondere für hochkonzentrierte Lösungen

Unsere sprühgetrockneten Qualitäten sind frei von Verunreinigungen, haben durch die Pasteurisierung eine sehr geringe mikrobiologische Belastung und zeichnen sich durch schnelle Löslichkeit aus.

Sie werden unter einem strengen, zertifizierten Qualitätsmanagement- und HACCP-System produziert, um der verarbeitenden Industrie einen sicheren Zusatzstoff zu gewährleisten. Die analytische Qualitätskontrolle erfolgt durch erfahrene Mitarbeiter in unserem eigenen Labor. Unsere sprühgetrockneten Pulver erfüllen alle gesetzlichen Anforderungen:

  • E 414 (EU 231/2012), Ph. Eur., BP, JECFA, USP, FCC

Weiter bieten wir Gummi arabicum in folgenden Formen an:

  • mechanisch gemahlenes Pulver
  • Granulate
  • Rohware
  • auf Wunsch als flüssige Lösungen

Die Harze aus verschiedenen Regionen der Sahelzone unterscheiden sich erheblich in ihren Eigenschaften.  Wir wählen für Sie die richtigen Qualitäten für Ihre jeweilige Anwendung aus. Dabei können wir zertifizierte Bio-Qualitäten (DE–ÖKO-005) anbieten.

Wenn spezielle Produktparameter von Ihnen gewünscht werden, erstellen wir ein maßgeschneidertes Produkt, das wir auf Abruf produzieren. Wir stehen für eine hohe Flexibilität und individuellen Service, auch bei Verpackung, Transport und Dokumentation.